Henry's Blog Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 17 Jan 2019 08:45:36 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Jan 02, 2019 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-02-2019.html <p>Warmup 2 miles in 11:29, another in 11:20(ish). Long cooldown. Fun workout. I felt pretty good knocking these out.</p> Wed, 02 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 01, 2019 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2019.html <p>Pretty sure I only did 6. It was a crazy day.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 31, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2018.html <p>Nice long run at 7 min pace. Cold. But good.</p> Mon, 31 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 29, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-29-2018.html <p>Did a warmup, then did a 5k with the goal of getting under 18 minutes. Finished in 17:42. I felt really good and wasn&#39;t super tired at the end, so I have some more to give. I should have done this a long time ago, but better late than never. Now I can figure out how to improve my fitness and run faster. Endurance was okay, speed was lacking. Pretty happy with this time.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 28, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-28-2018.html <p>Easy run. Cold again. Overdressed and sweat a lot.</p> Fri, 28 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 27, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2018.html <p>Got it some aquajogging in the morning with BJ and Mc. It was good to get in the water.</p> <p>Was gonna do a longer run in the evening, but I got lazy and cold. Also it hurts to breathe...basically I have a neverending side ache, and it was bad enough to stop me short.</p> Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 26, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2018.html <p>Late night run. It was cold, but nice to get out.</p> Wed, 26 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 25, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2018.html <p>Merry Christmas!</p> <p>Agreed to meet up at the track and run with some friends. Jacob Lee didn&#39;t show up so I was sad, because his sister said he&#39;d be there&nbsp;but she lied. We did 4x400&#39;s which were way weird because I didn&#39;t really want to do them, and the track was covered in snow which throws everything off. Any way. I did them. Then a long cool down.</p> Tue, 25 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 24, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2018.html <p>Did a run in the snow. It really slows you down and tires you out, but it felt good and I didn&#39;t get cold. Afterwards at work I felt trashed, but felt better as it went on. Was way tired at night too.</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 22, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2018.html <p>Yoooo this run was wild!!!!! Let me tell you what happened.&nbsp;</p> <p>So I left at like 20:45 and told someone I was making plans with I&#39;d be back in an hour because I knew they got off work at 22:00 and&nbsp; I was gonna talk to them them and get a plan together.</p> <p>My plan was to do a 5 mile tempo at 6:30 pace. I knocked out a warmup, then started off and held it really good, things were great, then I got to 3 miles and needed a restroom super bad so I ended up stopping at a stranger&#39;s house and using theirs. Then I was super lost and took a bunch of wrong turns, but anyway I finished those 5 miles with a 6:15 average. It felt really good.</p> <p>Then I was super far from home and it was 21:50 and I needed to get home and text that one person. So anyway I got to 10 miles and looked for a chance to hitch hike home. So I got to a good chance, flagged a car down, and some people I knew picked me up. It was crazy.&nbsp;</p> <p>So I had a sick workout, used a stranger&#39;s toilet, and hitchhiked home. It was sick.</p> <p>So I was able to text that person and get stuff figured out and it was sick.</p> Sat, 22 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 21, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2018.html <p>5 on the treadmill. It was a party.</p> Fri, 21 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 20, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-20-2018.html <p>Quick run in the evening. It felt to get out and run. Ankle had some discomfort, but no pain, and I was able to adjust and make it not hurt.</p> Thu, 20 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 19, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-19-2018.html <p>Long warmup. 12x400. 74, 75, 74, 76, 76, 75, 79, 72, 76, 77, 72, 71. Long cooldown. Didn&#39;t feel too bad. Didn&#39;t feel super fast either. I&#39;ll work on it.</p> Wed, 19 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 18, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-18-2018.html <p>Aquajogged 50 min.</p> <p>Did 5 on the treadmill in the evening.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 17, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-17-2018.html <p>Felt good, cruised nice.</p> Mon, 17 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 15, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-15-2018.html <p>Good quick 10 miler. Stayed at 6:45-55 for 8, then hit some uphill, but still stayed fairly fast and ended with 6:58&#39;s on the run. I felt good, and I think next week will be a good one.</p> Sat, 15 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 14, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-14-2018.html <p>Knocked out 8 on the treadmill...it was good. I felt good.</p> Fri, 14 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 13, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-13-2018.html <p>Three miles on the treadmill. Ankle didn&#39;t bother me, but I didn&#39;t want to risk it. Did one of the miles in 6 minutes.</p> Thu, 13 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 12, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-12-2018.html <p>Thought my ankle might still be a little sketch so I did an hour of aquajogging. I&#39;m torn about how to log this time...so I&#39;ll just call it 6ish miles...if that&#39;s bad...then I dunno, this is my blog and I&#39;ll probably just do what I want. If you&#39;re worried about your spot on the mileage board then feel free to join me at the pool I guess.</p> <p>So I woke up before 7 for the first time in forever, and felt like trash. I texted someone about that and they were so concerned about my self esteem that they kept saying that I&#39;m not trash and I was thinking &quot;I know that, I&#39;m great, I just physically feel like I want to cease living and I don&#39;t think you understand that&quot; but I thought about it and was like &quot;dang this person obviously cares about me if they don&#39;t want me to think I&#39;m trash enough to say I&#39;m not twice, even though I just mean I could go for a few more hours of sleep&quot;. And I was kinda touched by that. So that&#39;s how I felt something besides exhaustion and a desire for sleep this morning.</p> <p>So halfway through this I had to pee so I got out of the pool and I could not stand up, I was so physically spent that I could not get up. It was so crazy. My back muscles and neck muscles were super tight and tired and my arms and legs were burning. So that was a crazy feeling. That convinced me of the efficacy of aquajogging. That being said, I&#39;m still not that good at it. I catch myself treading water with a more efficient arm or leg movement every couple minutes, and I don&#39;t think I&#39;m keeping my tempo up as well as I am supposed to. As I get better I will log these miles at 8min = 1mile, but for now it&#39;s not as effective as running so it&#39;ll be 10min = 1mile. Also there was some slight ankle discomfort during this that would have turned into pain if I had been pounding the pavement, so I made a good call I think.</p> <p>Did a little bit of swimming. It hurt nice. It was fun.</p> Wed, 12 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 11, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-11-2018.html <p>Felt decent and did it outside. My ankle started to feel funny but it didn&#39;t hurt...</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 10, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-10-2018.html <p>Did 7 on a treadmill cuz I don&#39;t trust my ankle enough to venture to the outside yet. Felt fine.</p> Mon, 10 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 08, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-08-2018.html <p>Couldn&#39;t go aquajogging, so I decided to see if I could run. Turns out I can do 5 miles without my ankle or whatever hurting. Did it pretty quick. Felt decent. Next week I&#39;ll do some long miles again, and this time mix in some cross training or whatever to boost the miles, but avoid the wear and tear.</p> Sat, 08 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 07, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-07-2018.html <p>No run....I was gonna go aquajog, but then someone offered me breakfast and I couldn&#39;t turn that down. Then I worked, then I went to a football game.</p> Fri, 07 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 06, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-06-2018.html <p>Went to the pool and got in like 30 min of aquajogging...kinda tempted to hobblejog this evening...but I&#39;ll just wait a little longer until I can hobbyjog properly.</p> Thu, 06 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 05, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-05-2018.html <p>I was gonna aquajog...but on wednesday nights instead of regular lap swimming they do kayak polo. So that ruined my day. I did work, and then I went dancing...but yeah. Kinda a let down.</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 04, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-04-2018.html <p>I want to hobbyjog, but every time I try it turns into hobblejogging, so I tried aquajogging. I did like 40 minute of aquajogging with some random swimming just for kicks. It was kinda shocking how much fitness I lost on the mission...even when I wasn&#39;t swimming regularly I was comfortable and smooth in the water, but I felt so dead even swimming just a couple hundred yards. But being in the water felt really good, even if I was out of shape.</p> Tue, 04 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 03, 2018 http://HenryXC.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-03-2018.html <p>Tried to run...got a mile in and ankle started hurting.</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2018 07:00:00